More headstands and shoulderstands

This past week I have really been doing a lot of practicing the headstand and shoulderstand. I’ve never been so involved in any of the yoga poses so far. Usually I will strike a pose every so often, but I’ve really been wanting to do these stands. In class last week I was surprised that I was able to get up on shoulderstand when we used the tactic of being a short distance from the wall and rolling back. That was the first time that I had gotten up, and I had tried several times, all fruitlessly. That was especially encouraging because I compared that shoulderstand to the very first try when we had used the chairs in class. Over the span of about two weeks I feel I made a lot of progress. I’ve been able to do the shoulderstands at home practicing now too, and I’ve been doing it after the headstands. I didn’t realize it until I started practicing with both shoulder and headstands, but I do maybe feel more calm after the practice than when I just did headstands last week in my practice. I do remember an instance last week of not being able to find my keys and feeling particularly agitated at this, which is not my usual response. I don’t know if it had anything to do with only practicing headstands or not, but it’s something I noticed. I’ve also been pretty good about practicing breathing exercises, especially since I know they will eventually make a difference in my health. Even though seeing results years from now seems like an extremely delayed gratification, any prospect of not needing an inhaler is motivating enough.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anne Schultz
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 20:09:55

    Glad you are taking to the inversions and glad the possibility of non-inhaler life is motivating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

